Fox News ‘The Five’ Announces A New Permanent Co-Host

Photo by Gage Skidmore

Fox News announced that Jeanine Pirro will become “The Five’s” latest permanent conservative co-host on Wednesday. 

She will join conservtive co-hosts Greg Gutfeld, Dana Perino and Jesse Watters around the table full-time, while the liberal seat will be filled by Harold Ford Jr., Geraldo Rivera, and Jessica Tarlov on a rotating basis. 

“’The Five’ continues to be a beloved show by the American audience. Each of the co-hosts are accomplished and insightful talent with diverse opinions and terrific chemistry who will certainly help drive this ensemble program going forward,” FOX News Media CEO Suzanne Scott remarked.

Original panelist, liberal co-host Juan Williams, exited the show at the end of May, after working remotely from Washington D.C. for most of the pandemic. 

“This is my last day hosting The Five,” Williams said May 26th. “Covid taught me a lot of lessons. As the show goes back to the New York studio, I will be staying in D.C. I will be working for Fox out of Washington. My work as a Fox News political analyst will continue.”

Pirro has stepped in to fill the empty seat after spending years as a frequent substitute. She will be forfeiting her weekend show, “Justice with Judge Jeanine,” to focus on “The Five.”  

Watters will also give up his weekend show, “Watters World,” which airs on Saturday evenings. He has been promoted to permanent anchor for the 7 p.m. hour at the network, replacing Martha MacCallum. “Jesse Watters Primetime” will launch on Jan. 24, and he will remain a full-time co-host on “The Five.”

“The Five” was the second most-watched cable news show in 2021, pummeling the ratings of competitors at CNN and MSNBC. By the end of the year, the show averaged 3.3 million viewers and became the first cable news show to ever consistently come in number one during the fourth quarter. 

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments